The museum is located in a building which was built as a tannery in the year 1753. White and glacé leather was produced here until 1947. The building has been a listed monument since 1958 and opened as Museum of Technological History in 1963. The permanent exhibition today presents a technological display of the tawing trade around 1900 and explores many aspects of the general and regional development of the tanning trade and the leather industry. In addition to leather and fur from all over the world, visitors can look forward to a cobbler workshop and journeymen parlor from the 19th century, a collection of precious guile gear as well as special exhibitions.